“I Tried on White, and it Just Wasn’t Me”

One of the fun things about shooting weddings is every wedding is different, and that has definitely been the case for me this year. Dana and Dustin told me during their engagement session this past summer that he would be wearing a white tux – and he did. This young couple from near Dubuque, Iowa – and don’t let “young” fool you as they’ve been together longer than most marriages last (8 years) – took it one step further and decided to put a twist with tradition. Dana decided to wear a pink dress.

“I tried on white, and it just wasn’t me,” she told me when I asked her why not white. Regardless of whether that’s something most brides would go for, it seems like a good enough reason for Dana. After all, it is her and her fiance’s wedding.

Here are some of my favorite images from their wedding on Sept. 13:

Dana getting her hair done at Ultimate Impressions Salon and Spa in Peosta, Iowa

Dana getting her hair done at Ultimate Impressions Salon and Spa in Peosta, Iowa

Dana and Dustin exchanging vows. Even after 8 years together, Dustin still got emotional.

Dana and Dustin exchanging vows. Even after 8 years together, Dustin still got emotional.

During the ceremony, the mini-groom - who was crying and cranky walking down the aisle - falls asleep exhausted.

During the ceremony, the mini-groom - who was crying and cranky walking down the aisle - falls asleep exhausted.

One would never guess to look at it, but the bride designed the cake herself.

One would never guess to look at it, but the bride designed the cake herself.

The party bus with the bridal party, alcohol and of course pop for the photographer and the young kids... If you look closely, you can see my reflection in the mirror.

The party bus with the bridal party, alcohol and of course pop for the photographer and the young kids... If you look closely, you can see my reflection in the mirror.

Dustin dancing with the couple's toddler daughter, Nadia.

Dana dancing with her father, Mark: Dustin dancing with the couple's toddler daughter, Nadia.

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

One Response to “I Tried on White, and it Just Wasn’t Me”

  1. Dana (Bride) says:

    Thank you for everything Shuva! You really helped make my day extra special, and made me feel like even more of a princess on my special day. 🙂 🙂 I just love the pictures! I am so excited to see the rest of them 🙂 Especially the one right after “you may kiss the bride” and Dustin about ripped off my veil from hugging me so tight! … That picture is going to be priceless!! 🙂 Also thank you for the comment about my cake!

Leave a Reply

