Sergio

I told myself I wouldn’t blog as I’m on vacation now in South Carolina (returning Dec. 18). But this was too important to wait: A few weeks ago I posted a family session and made mention of the fact that doctors found a bone marrow donor for their 12-year-old son Sergio. I learned this morning that the donor’s procedure went as scheduled on Thursday, and Sergio had his transplant in Iowa City yesterday without fanfare. While it will take weeks to see the affects of the transplant Sergio’s family, I know, feels incredibly lucky and blessed as this emotional experience is one they can really truly understand and appreciate. I cannot relate, but I say this in light of a New York Times story I read recently on the vast difference of people who say they want to be donors and those who are selfless enough to go through the actual process of doing it.

Sergio and his family don’t know the donor’s real name and refer to him as Angel. Please take a moment to keep Sergio and his family, Angel, as well as their incredible doctors in your thoughts as they both take on the next steps toward recovery.

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

Leave a Reply

