My Not-So-Secret Life

Several weeks ago I ran across this blog post about the business of wedding photography. The gap between the reality vs. the perception about photographers is pretty amazing. The reality chart is somewhat accurate for my life, with networking and blogging taking up bigger slices of the pie. However, to maintain my sanity I’m a big believer in escaping reality at least once a year. So I party like a rock star (the last time was over a year ago in Des Moines), and travel to an exotic location (“exotic” is defined as anywhere outside Iowa and Illinois, and right now anyplace with temps at least 30 degrees above the current forecast). After a dose of letting go and non-workdom, I’m refreshed, inspired and ready for real life. And I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Perception

Reality

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

3 Responses to My Not-So-Secret Life

  1. tara k says:

    LOVE this, shuva…thanks for sharing! yes, the uber-glam lives of we photogs, huh? šŸ˜‰

  2. Rachel Clare says:

    This is perfect. Seriously.

  3. Jen says:

    Bless your sweet little heart. This is SO reality. And exactly what I needed to see tonight. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

