The Future is Now: Lessons from 2010 Photo Seminar

Iowa’s state photography seminar isn’t just about photographers learning to become better shooters (although there is a lot of that) as it is more about becoming better in all aspects of business and life.

I’m excited to soak in much of what I learned last weekend at the annual Professional Photographers of Iowa winter seminar and thought I’d write a bit about some of the key things I took away from my time in Des Moines:

  1. One photo may not change the world, but it can change one life. And that’s better than nothing.
  2. Road maps are good to have on long trips – especially when it looks like columns of scary organized numbers.
  3. Listening to a firm, authoritative voice speak about the E-Myth on Sunday beat watching the Super Bowl (even though I’m glad the Saints won).
  4. “It’s all about the light. Seeing it, creating it, controlling it and using it expressively.” ~ Gregory Heisler
  5. Judging photography is hard and I learned a lot this year by watching print competition judging. I understood a lot of it, some of it I did not.
  6. Conversations with other photographers can be very enlightening, whether during an early morning breakfast or hot chocolate late at night.
  7. Ten steps can be condensed to one keystroke with the finger (or nose).
  8. The best way for me to learn is for others to let down their guard ~ something all the speakers I heard did and made it worth the trip.
  9. I am in a better place in my life than I was a year ago, personally and professionally.
  10. Now I am building on what I learned… stay tuned…
About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

Leave a Reply

