Olympics ~ A Small Bit of Distant Memorabilia

Like many of you, I’ve been glued to the TV the past couple weeks watching winter sports I’d never otherwise watch (biathlon), never heard of (ski cross) and paying closer attention to ones I’ve sorta kinda watched (ice dancing). I’ve never gone to an Olympics, but the closest came when my dad and sister went to the Atlanta Games in 1996. They came home armed with tons of lapel pins for me – which I’ve collected since childhood and something I always buy from any touristy place I visit.

But oddly enough my biggest “Olympic” experience (which I always thought there was a photo of, but may just be a very strong memory) is when my family and I went to Calgary in 1988 – the summer after their Winter Games. We went to the top of the ski jump tower, and (at the time) it was the tallest one in history. I remember looking down and was amazed at how far up from the ground we were. How did they have the couarge to fly off that thing? I don’t know, but I have since paid more attention to the ski jump.

And long before then I started collecting pins, some of which I got as gifts and some not. The 1984 Summer Games button is one my aunt picked up for me that year while going through the Los Angeles airport. The Atlanta pin is from my dad and sister, and the Lillehammer pin is one I got online. Oddly enough, I don’t have any since the ’96 Games. But that’s just as well since all my pins in recent years have been from travels. And that’s how I plan to get my next Olympic pin.

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

One Response to Olympics ~ A Small Bit of Distant Memorabilia

  1. i was starting to think that i would probably end up being the sole man whom thought about this, at least at present i find out im not loony 🙂 i will make it a point to go and visit a couple of different threads soon after i get some caffeine in me, it is really challanging to read with out my coffee, adios for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

