Getting Lost in Prairie Lights

I allowed myself some downtime for a change this weekend and went for a long walk. I’m not sure how long but I was gone for at least a good 4 hours. I snaked my way through some old neighborhoods, and onto Gilbert Street to make my way to downtown Iowa City. Scott and I had just done this walk two nights prior, but I still needed to do it on my own. Prairie Lights, which is has been a cozy staple in the town since I first lived here more than 12 years ago, drew me like a magnet. And so I went in and stayed, finding myself browsing a photography magazine and some other random books that looked interesting. I settled upon The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch, the true story of a college professor diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, and delivering his final words of wisdom. I sat myself in one of the green chairs and read it in one sitting, and sobbed about three-fourths of the way through it.

Crying in the middle of a bookstore … Sheesh…I can’t remember the last time I got emotional after reading a book – much less in public. But it was worth the walk, worth the read.

And after a while, I was ready to make the trek back.

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

Leave a Reply

