In Memoriam: My Friend, Charlotte

I didn’t expect to be writing this post now (late Tuesday night)… so soon. But I got word of Charlotte’s passing earlier Tuesday on Facebook. She was 76.

I photographed Charlotte just over a year ago, March 2009. Her daughter – my good friend Sharon – had me come to their Ohio home and shoot a surprise 75th birthday party for her mom. It was one of the nicest and biggest surprises to be a part of. And Charlotte was just so overcome with joy, emotion and love. That day could not have been more perfect.

A few months ago, she started to become ill with cancer – a sudden piece of news for me considering how Sharon once marveled at her mom’s energy.

The morning after her big party, there was more opening of gifts from family, and hugs and cheerfulness. After everyone had gone, it was just me, Charlotte and Sharon. One of the last photos of my time there was before I would get in the car and head back to Iowa. I will never forget Charlotte’s kindness, friendship and open heartedness.

I previously considered a trip to Ohio this summer to see Sharon and Charlotte. But it wasn’t meant to be (at least now). And it’s just as well because this is how I most remember her… and always will.

Shuva

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

One Response to In Memoriam: My Friend, Charlotte

  1. Erie says:

    My thoughts and prayers to you and Sharon.

Leave a Reply

