Remembrance…

I didn’t expect this blog to become my memorial for people I care about given the past two entries. Some of you know the background about Sergio. But for many who do not, some clarification is in order based on information (and lack thereof) of past blog entries. Sergio, age 13, was a 2-time cancer survivor. I had the privilege of photographing him and his family (click here) in November 2009, around when the family learned a perfect match was found for Sergio’s bone marrow transplant. On June 5, 2010, parents Melissa and Shawn got married, and Sergio and his younger sister, McKenzey, took part in the wedding.

Melissa hugging Sergio upon seeing her son for the first time on the wedding day.

One of my favorites from the ceremony - Sergio and McKenzey walking down the aisle.

On the wedding day it was clear to me how much FUN Sergio was having. Given all he had endured the past couple years I excited to see how energetic he was, especially on the dance floor.

Sergio, at the reception, showing off his cool dance moves!

A few weeks ago he was back at University of Iowa Children’s Hospital, where I had a chance to visit Sergio and Melissa last Thursday. He passed peacefully on Sunday afternoon.

Part of my next two days will be spent saying goodbye, and embracing all I can of Sergio’s loving family. I know he will be dearly missed by many who knew him, and those who didn’t. And I am thankful I knew him in the short time I did.

Much Peace and Blessings,

Shuva

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

One Response to Remembrance…

  1. integrityintegrated says:

    What a beautiful photographic and written tribute Shuva. Thank you for sharing.

    Ginny

Leave a Reply

