Do You Skype?

I do… I first learned of Skype about 5 years ago, but can’t recall what provoked me to try it in the first place. Yet I remember just relishing in the sheer amazement of actually speaking to a friend in Amsterdam through a set of headphones connected to my laptop in Iowa, and hearing him so clearly it was as if we were in the same room instead of thousands of miles away.  … at NO COST to either of us.

Since then, I started using the video chat component of Skype – and now require any prospective, long-distance clients who cannot meet me in person to do so through this program.

It’s amazing how simple it is to use this technology to communicate.

But like anything you haven’t tried, it can be intimidating at first . However, some things – like Skype – I feel are worth putting a half-hour of time in to learn.

For starters, it is FREE to use – as long as the person you are communicating with also has Skype. The program is free to download. Then it’s just a matter of setting up an account and clicking the green phone icon to call and talk to people.

As a photographer, I love using the video feature so people can see me and I can see them. Face it, even through a computer it is a lot more comforting to see someone as you speak with them. You definitely get a better feel for the personality behind the voice.

If it sounds too good to be true, well.. the only negative thing I can say about Skype is I’ve had only a very few incidents of dropped calls. But getting back to the person only took seconds.

So if you haven’t already, I encourage you to embrace Skype. And freely talk to your long-distance friends and family without worries about burning minutes on a phone, or paying a cent for that matter. You can’t ask for better than that.

Happy Friday!

Shuva

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

Leave a Reply

