*Wedding Wednesday* :: Same-Sex Couples

It’s not my nature to get political on my blog, especially on a *Wedding Wednesday* post. But I’m filling out my ballot so I stop getting election calls. And in light of the recent campaign to oust three judges from the Iowa Supreme Court stemming from their 2009 vote deeming same-sex marriage legal, I thought I’d address a few FAQ’s regarding how my business practices.

same sex couple wedding

Do you shoot gay/lesbian couples?

Yes, I shot my first same-sex session recently, and the first wedding is scheduled next year. However, I do not seek out same-sex couples. It’s important that all my prospective clients – regardless of sexual orientation – like my work, like me and can afford me even before they decide to book a session.

Do you offer discounts for sessions with same-sex couples?

Nope. I’m an equal opportunity people-pleaser (or disappointer).

Do you shoot same-sex sessions differently than other sessions?

Well, strictly based on the most recent shoot, no… I didn’t shoot it any differently and can’t see that I would for future sessions. All my shoots tend to be interactive. And if the people being photographed care enough about each other then it will reflect the same way in the images as two people who are straight.

*Wedding Wednesday* is a weekly post of creative information, ideas and inspiration. If you are a professional in the wedding industry and would like to contribute an entry please contact me for information.

In other news, I’m moving to a new blog as of tomorrow – www.shuvarahim.com – and this series will continue on that site next week. Thanks to all of you who have been dedicated readers via Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, or have just dropped by to see what’s new. I hope you continue to follow me and comment and enjoy!

As Ever…

Signature

About accentphoto
Accent Photographics specializes in on-location baby, children and family photography, and special-event photography of weddings in eastern

Leave a Reply

